Université du Québec

Université du Québec

The Université du Québec is a network of schools comprised of the following nine locations:

The University of Quebec at Montreal (UQAM)

Founded April 19, 1969, University of Quebec at Montreal, which had about 37,000 students in 1997, now has nearly 50,000. The letters, arts and humanities were first its areas of strength, but since the 70s, it has enriched many programs in management sciences and pure sciences and applied. It offers more 300 programs through its six faculties and the School of Management. Teluq, tele-university that is part of the institution, account number about 20,000 students.

The University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières (UQTR)

Founded March 19, 1969, University of Quebec at Trois-Rivieres had 10,711 students in fall 2006. Offering 150 programs of study, it is particularly active in research in the fields of pulp and paper, hydrogen, SMEs, ecology and health.

The University of Quebec at Chicoutimi (UQAC)

Founded March 19, 1969, University of Quebec at Chicoutimi is attended by nearly 6400 students in fall 2006. Its original programs include the American Indian Studies, the outdoors and tourism, and physical activity.

The University of Quebec at Rimouski (UQAR)

The Center of European Studies of Rimouski has become an institution in its own June 13, 1973. Approximately 5,400 students attend its two campuses and Rimouski Levis fall 2006. His areas of research recognized include marine science, regional development and the northern location.

The University of Quebec in Outaouais (UQO)

Founded in March 1981 under the name University of Quebec at Hull, the institution changed its name in July 2002 to adopt the University of Quebec in Outaouais. Its enrollment is approximately 5600 students in Fall 2006. Its programs include the sciences of education, social work and psycho-education, the health sciences, information technology and increasingly the natural sciences.

The University of Quebec in Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT)

The newest of the network of institutions, the University of Quebec in Abitibi-Témiscamingue, founded in October 1983, celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2008. In fall 2006, about 2,650 students attend the school. Its researchers are particularly active in the mining and forestry, but also in health sciences and in regional development.

The École de Technologie Supérieure (ETS)

Founded in March 1974, École de technologie supérieure is distinguished by its teaching and its cooperative ties with its partners in technology and industry. In fall 2006, more than 4,700 students attend its campus in Montreal. Among its areas of excellence include the transfer of expertise, aerospace, biomedical engineering, imaging and 3D grids.

Institut National de Recherche Scientifique (INRS)

Founded in December 1969, the National Institute of Scientific Research offers programs graduate within four research centers: Water, Earth and Environment, Energy, Materials and Telecomunications, human health, animal and environmental health; Urbanization, Culture and Society. In fall 2006, more than 600 students attend the INRS, divided almost equally between the master’s programs and doctoral degrees.

The École Nationale d’Administration Publique (ENAP)

Founded in June 1969, The National Academy of Public Administration offers graduate programs as well as short courses to nearly 1840 students in fall 2006.

Want to see and learn more about Université du Québec and it various locations? Take a Virtual Tour.

Comments are closed.